Notix
Alternatives

A SparkPost alternative with five times the free allowance.

SparkPost, now sold as Bird, gives 1,000 emails a month free and starts paid plans at $15. Notix Free is 5,000 emails a month with no card and no end date, and Notix Pro at $15 includes 50,000 emails, an OTP API, a pre-send deliverability check and one suppression list across transactional and marketing mail. Teams that need SparkPost's scale, its Recipient Validation API or a dedicated IP should stay; Notix offers none of those.

Why switch

Why people look for a SparkPost alternative.

A small free tier.

Bird's email pricing page gives SparkPost's free plan 1,000 emails a month with no card and no time limit. That is enough to test with and not enough to run a small product on; most teams reach the $15 Startup plan within the first month of real traffic.

A product in transition.

SparkPost is now sold under the Bird name: the pricing page is Bird's, the documentation and client libraries still say SparkPost. Teams choosing a provider for the next few years reasonably ask which name, which plans and which console they will be on.

It sends; the rest is yours.

SparkPost is a delivery API with SMTP, webhooks and a validation product. The one-time code for a sign-in flow, its expiry and the check are yours to build, there is no pre-send test for whether a message is likely to land, and marketing mail is a separate concern with its own suppression handling.

Side by side

SparkPost and Notix, criterion by criterion.

Every SparkPost figure was read from Bird's own email pricing page on 2026-09-13; the date sits under the table. Where the page does not state something, the cell says so.

Figures read from bird.com on 2026-09-13; Notix figures come from its own pricing page.
CriterionSparkPost (Bird)Notix
Free tier1,000 emails a month, no card, no time limit5,000 emails a month, 200 a day, no card, no end date
Entry paid planStartup from $15 a monthPro $15 a month
Included on that plan50,000 to 100,000 emails a month on Startup; Growth from $80 for 100,000 to 2.5 million; overage $0.90 per 1,00050,000 emails, usage past that metered on the same invoice
SMTP relayYesYes, on every plan
SDKsPHP, Node, Python, GoTypeScript, Python, Go, PHP
WebhooksYesYes, signed, for email, contact and domain events
OTP / verification APINoYes, email and SMS codes
Deliverability check before sendingRecipient Validation API; price not stated on the pricing pageYes, a pre-send check API
Billing outside USDUSDUSD by card; naira and shillings from a prepaid wallet
SLANot stated on the pricing page99.9% on Pro, credits on the pricing page
Prices and limits read from the vendors' own pages: bird.com on 2026-09-13. Notix figures are from its own pricing page.

Where SparkPost is better.

Scale. SparkPost's Growth plan runs from 100,000 to 2.5 million emails a month from $80, with overage at $0.90 per 1,000, and a dedicated IP is a $24.95 a month add-on for teams that want their own reputation. It offers a Recipient Validation API for checking a list before you send to it, and client libraries for PHP, Node, Python and Go. If your volume is in the millions or a dedicated IP is on your list, SparkPost is the right tool and this page is not for you.

Where the pages agree.

Both send through a JSON API, both offer SMTP, both post webhooks for delivery events, both bill in US dollars, and both verify a sending domain with DNS records you add once. Neither pricing page states an uptime commitment except Notix on Pro. For a plain transactional send the two calls carry the same fields; the migration section shows how little changes.

What you get

What Notix adds.

Five times the free allowance.

5,000 emails a month and 200 a day, no card, no end date. Pro is $15 for 50,000 emails, with usage past that metered on the same invoice at the rate on the pricing page.

An OTP API.

One call sends a code by email or SMS, one call checks it. Expiry, attempts and rate limits are handled server-side. See OTP email.

A deliverability check before sending.

Post the message and get back a verdict, a score and the findings that would block a send. Read how it works on the deliverability check page.

One suppression list.

Bounces and complaints suppress across transactional and marketing mail in one account, with contact books, campaigns and journeys included rather than sold separately.

Naira and shilling billing.

A prepaid wallet in NGN or KES, topped up locally. Pro is charged from the balance each month; no dollar card needed.

Migration

Moving from SparkPost takes an afternoon.

A transmission and a send carry the same fields: a sender, recipients, a subject and a body. Swap the client and the key, or the SMTP host, verify your domain, and the rest of your code stays as it is.

Your SparkPost client (placeholder)
// Before: your SparkPost client, whichever library you use.
// The transmission carries a sender, recipients and content.
const result = await sparkpost.transmissions.send({
  content: {
    from: "receipts@acme.com",
    subject: "Your receipt",
    html: "<p>Thanks for your order.</p>",
  },
  recipients: [{ address: "customer@example.com" }],
});

1. Verify the domain.

Add the SPF, DKIM and DMARC records Notix gives you. They sit beside SparkPost's records, so both services can send while you switch. The quickstart walks through it.

2. Swap the client, or the SMTP host.

Replace the SparkPost transmission with notix-js and the key in your environment, and add an idempotency key so a retried request never sends twice. Over SMTP, point your mailer at smtp.usenotix.dev on 465 or 587 with user notix and your API key as the password; the SMTP relay takes the message your mailer already builds.

3. Import your suppression list.

Export SparkPost's suppression list, save it as a .csv or .txt with one address per line, and upload the file under Suppressions in the dashboard, so the first sends from Notix never reach an address that has already said no. Webhook URLs move last, once traffic has.

Pricing math

What a month costs at three volumes.

Monthly cost on SparkPost and Notix at 10,000, 50,000 and 100,000 emails
Emails a monthSparkPost (Bird)Notix
10,000Startup, from $15 (Free stops at 1,000)Pro, $15 (Free stops at 5,000)
50,000Startup, from $15Pro, $15
100,000Startup's top tier, or Growth from $80Pro, $15 plus the 50,000 above the allowance, metered on the same invoice

At 10,000 and 50,000 the two entry plans cost the same. At 100,000, SparkPost's Startup plan tops out and Growth starts at $80; Notix keeps you on Pro and adds the overage to the same invoice at the per-unit rate on the pricing page, where you can run the estimate for your own volume. SparkPost prices read on 2026-09-13; the pricing page shows Startup as a range of tiers, so the exact figure at 100,000 depends on the tier you choose.

Nigeria and Kenya

A SparkPost alternative you can pay for in naira.

Teams in Nigeria and Kenya fund a prepaid wallet in naira or shillings through local payment methods and Pro is charged from that balance each month, so nobody needs a dollar card that clears international charges. The free plan is the same everywhere. The local price per email is on the pricing page when you open it from either country, and every receipt is in the wallet currency.

FAQ

Questions people ask before switching.

Is Notix cheaper than SparkPost?
At the entry price they match: SparkPost's Startup plan starts at $15 a month and Notix Pro is $15. Startup covers 50,000 to 100,000 emails a month depending on the tier you pick, with overage at $0.90 per 1,000; Notix Pro covers 50,000 and meters usage past that on the same invoice. The free plans differ more: SparkPost gives 1,000 emails a month, Notix 5,000.
Is SparkPost still SparkPost?
The product is now sold by Bird. Its pricing page lives on bird.com and the row on this page was read there; the API documentation and client libraries still carry the SparkPost name. This page uses SparkPost because that is what people search for.
Does Notix validate addresses like SparkPost's Recipient Validation?
Not as a bulk list-cleaning product. SparkPost offers a Recipient Validation API; its price is not stated on the pricing page. Notix scores each verification request for risk inside its OTP API and tests a message with a pre-send deliverability check. Those cover sign-up and sending; they do not clean an imported list.
Does Notix offer dedicated IPs like SparkPost?
No. SparkPost sells a dedicated IP at $24.95 a month; Notix sends from shared infrastructure only. If you need your own IP reputation, SparkPost is the better fit for that requirement.
Can I keep my SparkPost suppression list?
Yes. Export SparkPost's suppression list, save it as a .csv or .txt with one address per line, and upload it under Suppressions in the Notix dashboard. Notix keeps one list across transactional and marketing mail, so an address that bounced a campaign is not sent a receipt either.
Can I pay for Notix without a dollar card?
Yes. Teams in Nigeria and Kenya fund a prepaid wallet in naira or shillings and Pro is charged from that balance each month. SparkPost bills in US dollars.

Start free, no card, five times the allowance.

5,000 emails a month on Free. When you outgrow it, Pro is $15 for 50,000, payable by card or from a naira or shilling wallet.