Notix
Alternatives

A Mandrill alternative that does not need a Mailchimp plan.

Mailchimp Transactional, still known as Mandrill, is sold as an add-on to a paid Mailchimp Standard or Premium plan, in blocks of 25,000 emails at $20 a block. Notix Pro is $15 a month on its own, includes 50,000 emails, adds an OTP API and a pre-send deliverability check, keeps one suppression list across transactional and marketing mail. Teams whose marketing lives in Mailchimp's audience tooling can keep it there and move only the transactional side.

Why switch

Why people look for a Mandrill alternative.

The plan behind the blocks.

Mailchimp's transactional pricing page sells email in blocks of 25,000 at $20 each, and the free allowance of 500 sends applies only once the account has a Standard or Premium Mailchimp plan. A team that only wants to send receipts pays for a marketing plan first and the blocks second.

Blocks, not usage.

A block is 25,000 emails whether you send 3,000 or 24,000. The per-block price falls from $20 to $18 at 21 blocks and to $10 past 160, so the pricing rewards very large senders and rounds everyone else up. Per-email metering on one invoice is the thing small teams ask for and do not get.

Mature, but sending only.

Mandrill has been sending transactional mail for a long time, and its SMTP, webhooks and client libraries for PHP, Node, Python and Ruby reflect that. What it does not do is generate and check a one-time code, test a message before it goes, or share a suppression list with the marketing side of the same account.

Side by side

Mandrill and Notix, criterion by criterion.

Every Mandrill figure was read from Mailchimp's own transactional pricing page on 2026-09-13; the date sits under the table. Where the page does not state something, the cell says so.

Figures read from mailchimp.com on 2026-09-13; Notix figures come from its own pricing page.
CriterionMailchimp Transactional (Mandrill)Notix
Free tierUp to 500 free sends to a verified domain; needs a Mailchimp Standard or Premium plan5,000 emails a month, 200 a day, no card, no end date
Entry paid plan$20 per block of 25,000 emails (1 to 20 blocks), on top of a Mailchimp planPro $15 a month
Included on that plan25,000 emails per block; $18 a block from 21 blocks, down to $10 a block past 160; dedicated IP $29.95 a month50,000 emails, usage past that metered on the same invoice
SMTP relayYesYes, on every plan
SDKsPHP, Node, Python, RubyTypeScript, Python, Go, PHP
WebhooksYesYes, signed, for email, contact and domain events
OTP / verification APINoYes, email and SMS codes
Deliverability check before sendingNoYes, a pre-send check API
Billing outside USDNot stated on the pricing pageUSD by card; naira and shillings from a prepaid wallet
SLANot stated on the pricing page99.9% on Pro, credits on the pricing page
Prices and limits read from the vendors' own pages: mailchimp.com on 2026-09-13. Notix figures are from its own pricing page.

Where Mandrill is better.

If your marketing already runs on Mailchimp, Mandrill shares the account, the billing and the audience data, and that integration has no equivalent elsewhere. Its client libraries and SMTP are long established, a dedicated IP is a $29.95 a month add-on for teams that want their own reputation, and at very high volume the block price falls to $10 per 25,000, which is competitive. If any of those is the reason you are on Mandrill, this page is not for you.

Where the pages agree.

Both send through a JSON API, both offer SMTP, both post webhooks for delivery events, and both verify a sending domain with DNS records you add once. Neither publishes an uptime commitment on its pricing page except Notix on Pro. For a plain transactional send the message shape is the same; the migration section shows how little changes.

What you get

What Notix adds.

A free plan with no prerequisite.

5,000 emails a month and 200 a day, no card, no end date, and no other subscription. Pro is $15 for 50,000 emails, with usage past that metered on the same invoice at the rate on the pricing page.

An OTP API.

One call sends a code by email or SMS, one call checks it. Expiry, attempts and rate limits are handled server-side. See OTP email.

A deliverability check before sending.

Post the message and get back a verdict, a score and the findings that would block a send, before a recipient sees it.

One suppression list.

Bounces and complaints suppress across transactional and marketing mail in one account, with contact books, campaigns and journeys included rather than sold as a separate product.

Naira and shilling billing.

A prepaid wallet in NGN or KES, topped up locally. Pro is charged from the balance each month; no dollar card needed.

Migration

Moving from Mandrill takes an afternoon.

The message shape is the same: a from address, recipients, a subject and a body. Swap the client and the key, or the SMTP host, verify your domain, and the rest of your code stays.

Your Mandrill client (placeholder)
// Before: your Mandrill client, whichever library you use.
// The message carries from, to, subject and html, and the API key
// comes from your Mailchimp account with a Standard or Premium plan.
const result = await mandrill.messages.send({
  message: {
    from_email: "receipts@acme.com",
    to: [{ email: "customer@example.com" }],
    subject: "Your receipt",
    html: "<p>Thanks for your order.</p>",
  },
});

1. Verify the domain.

Add the SPF, DKIM and DMARC records Notix gives you. They sit beside Mandrill's records, so both services can send while you switch. The quickstart walks through it.

2. Swap the client, or the SMTP host.

Replace the Mandrill call with notix-js and the key in your environment, and add an idempotency key so a retried request never sends twice. Over SMTP, point your mailer at smtp.usenotix.dev on 465 or 587 with user notix and your API key as the password; the SMTP relay takes the message your mailer already builds.

3. Import your rejection list.

Export Mandrill's rejected addresses, save them as a .csv or .txt with one address per line, and upload the file under Suppressions in the dashboard, so the first sends from Notix never reach an address that has already bounced or complained. Webhook URLs move last, once traffic has.

Pricing math

What a month costs at three volumes.

Monthly cost on Mandrill and Notix at 10,000, 50,000 and 100,000 emails
Emails a monthMandrillNotix
10,0001 block, $20, plus a Mailchimp Standard or Premium planPro, $15 (Free stops at 5,000)
50,0002 blocks, $40, plus the Mailchimp planPro, $15
100,0004 blocks, $80, plus the Mailchimp planPro, $15 plus the 50,000 above the allowance, metered on the same invoice

The Mandrill column is the block price alone; the Mailchimp plan it requires is extra and depends on your audience size, so the real gap is larger than the table shows. Notix keeps you on Pro at every volume and adds usage past 50,000 to the same invoice at the per-unit rate on the pricing page, where you can run the estimate for your own volume. Mandrill prices read on 2026-09-13.

Nigeria and Kenya

A Mandrill alternative you can pay for in naira.

Teams in Nigeria and Kenya fund a prepaid wallet in naira or shillings through local payment methods and Pro is charged from that balance each month, so nobody needs a dollar card that clears international charges. The free plan is the same everywhere. The local price per email is on the pricing page when you open it from either country, and every receipt is in the wallet currency.

FAQ

Questions people ask before switching.

Is Notix cheaper than Mandrill?
For most small and mid-sized senders, yes, because of how the two are sold. Mandrill is an add-on to a paid Mailchimp Standard or Premium plan and is bought in blocks of 25,000 emails at $20 a block (cheaper per block from 21 blocks, down to $10 past 160). Notix Pro is $15 a month on its own, includes 50,000 emails, and meters usage past that on the same invoice. The Mailchimp plan is the part that is easy to forget when comparing the block price to a per-email rate.
Does Notix have a free plan like Mandrill's?
Mandrill allows up to 500 free sends to a verified domain, but only on an account that already has a Mailchimp Standard or Premium plan. Notix Free is 5,000 emails a month and 200 a day, 1 domain, no card, no end date, with no other subscription required.
Can I keep Mailchimp for marketing and move only transactional mail?
Yes, and many teams do exactly that. Mailchimp's audience tooling, campaign editor and reporting are its strength; Mandrill is the transactional add-on. You can point receipts, resets and alerts at Notix while campaigns stay on Mailchimp. Notix also has contact books, campaigns and journeys, so the marketing side can follow later if you want one suppression list across both kinds of mail.
Does Notix support SMTP and webhooks like Mandrill?
Yes to both. Mandrill offers SMTP and webhooks; so does Notix, with an SMTP relay on every plan (smtp.usenotix.dev, user notix, your API key as the password) and signed webhooks for delivery, bounce, complaint, open and click events, with retries and a replayable log.
Can I import my Mandrill rejection list?
Yes. Export the addresses Mandrill rejects for bounces and complaints, save them as a .csv or .txt with one address per line, and upload the file under Suppressions in the Notix dashboard. Notix keeps one list across transactional and marketing mail, so an address that bounced never gets a second send from either side.
Can I pay for Notix without a dollar card?
Yes. Teams in Nigeria and Kenya fund a prepaid wallet in naira or shillings and Pro is charged from that balance each month. Mandrill's pricing page does not state a billing currency; Mailchimp plans are billed by card.

Start free, no card, no marketing plan first.

5,000 emails a month on Free. When you outgrow it, Pro is $15 for 50,000, payable by card or from a naira or shilling wallet.