Notix
Compare

Postmark vs SendGrid.

A small, sending-only service against the largest name in the category. They differ on whether there is a free tier at all, on what $15 to $20 a month buys, and on which plan carries validation tooling and a written SLA. This page reads both pricing pages and puts the figures side by side; Notix appears as a third column, not as the subject.

At a glance

The two services, criterion by criterion.

Postmark's figures were read from its pricing page on 2026-09-13 and SendGrid's from its pricing page on 2026-09-13; both dates are repeated under the table. Notix figures come from its own pricing page.

Figures read from postmarkapp.com on 2026-09-13 and www.twilio.com on 2026-09-13; Notix figures come from its own pricing page.
CriterionPostmarkSendGridNotix
Free tier100 emails a month on the developer plan60-day trial, 100 a day; sending stops when the trial ends (the free plan was retired from 27 May 2025)5,000 emails a month, 200 a day, no card, no end date
Entry paid planBasic $15 a monthEssentials from $19.95 a monthPro $15 a month
Included on that plan10,000 emails a month, then $1.80 per extra 1,00050,000 to 100,000 emails a month on Essentials, volume-priced50,000 emails, usage past that metered on the same invoice
SMTP relayYes, on every planYesYes, on every plan
SDKsNode, Python, Ruby, PHP, .NET, and a documented cURL surfaceNode, Python, PHP, Ruby, Go, Java, C#TypeScript, Python, Go, PHP
WebhooksYesYesYes, signed, for email, contact and domain events
OTP / verification APINoNoYes, email and SMS codes
Deliverability check before sendingNoEmail validation API on Pro and aboveYes, a pre-send check API
Billing outside USDUSD by cardUSD by cardUSD by card; naira and shillings from a prepaid wallet
SLANot stated on the pricing pageStated for Pro and Premier plans99.9% on Pro, credits on the pricing page
Prices and limits read from the vendors' own pages: postmarkapp.com on 2026-09-13; www.twilio.com on 2026-09-13. Notix figures are from its own pricing page.

Free tier, or trial.

Postmark's developer plan is 100 emails a month with no end date. SendGrid retired its free plan from 27 May 2025; a new account now gets a 60-day trial at 100 emails a day, after which sending stops. Neither is enough to run a product on, but they behave differently: Postmark's stays useful for a test integration indefinitely, SendGrid's ends and asks for a card.

Price at 10,000 and 50,000.

Postmark Basic is $15 a month for 10,000 emails, then $1.80 for each extra 1,000. SendGrid Essentials starts at $19.95 a month and is sized for 50,000 to 100,000, volume-priced. At 10,000 emails Postmark is about $5 cheaper; at 50,000 Postmark Basic reaches about $87 against SendGrid's $19.95, unless you move up a Postmark plan. The lines cross a little under 13,000 emails a month.

Sending API and SMTP.

Both take a JSON body with from, to, subject and html and return a message id, and both offer SMTP, so a framework mailer or a legacy application can send without the API. A plain transactional send moves between the two after a client swap and a credential change; neither locks you in at the send call. Where they differ is around the send, not in it.

SDKs.

SendGrid lists Node, Python, PHP, Ruby, Go, Java and C#. Postmark lists Node, Python, Ruby, PHP and .NET, with a documented cURL surface for everything else. Node, Python, PHP and Ruby teams get a typed client from both; Go and Java teams get one from SendGrid only. For the languages both cover, the clients are the same shape and the choice will not rest on them.

Webhooks and validation tooling.

Both deliver event webhooks for delivery, bounce and complaint events, so a bounced address can be marked in your own database. SendGrid offers an email validation API on Pro and above; Postmark's pricing page lists no validation product. Neither offers a one-time-code API, and neither offers a deliverability check you can call before a send.

Billing and SLA.

Both bill in US dollars by card. SendGrid states an SLA for its Pro and Premier plans; Postmark's pricing page does not state an SLA figure. Neither entry plan carries a written uptime commitment. If one is a requirement, SendGrid's Pro plan meets it and Postmark's pricing page, as read here, does not say.

Verdict

Choose by volume, then by what the higher plans add.

Choose Postmark if

  • You want a developer plan that does not expire while you integrate.
  • You send under about 13,000 emails a month and want the cheaper paid plan.
  • You would rather pay per extra thousand than move up a plan tier.

Choose SendGrid if

  • You send more than about 13,000 emails a month; Essentials from $19.95 covers 50,000.
  • You want address validation and a written SLA from the same vendor, on Pro.
  • Your stack is Go or Java and you want an official typed client.
A third option

Where Notix sits.

On the same criteria: Notix Free is 5,000 emails a month and 200 a day with no card and no end date, which is more than Postmark's developer plan and, unlike SendGrid's trial, does not expire. Pro is $15 a month for 50,000 emails, with usage past that metered on the same invoice, which undercuts both paid plans at 50,000. SMTP, webhooks and SDKs for TypeScript, Python, Go and PHP are on every plan. The rows where it differs are the ones the entry plans of both headline services leave empty: a verification API for one-time codes by email or SMS, a deliverability check you call before a send, a 99.9 percent commitment on the $15 plan, and billing from a naira or shilling wallet as well as by card.

Consider Notix if

FAQ

Questions this comparison gets asked.

Does SendGrid still have a free plan?
No. The free plan was retired from 27 May 2025. A new account gets a 60-day trial at 100 emails a day, and sending stops when the trial ends unless you move to a paid plan. Postmark's developer plan is 100 emails a month with no end date. Neither is a free tier you could run a product on; Postmark's is the one that does not expire.
Which is cheaper at 10,000 emails a month?
Postmark, by about $5: Basic is $15 a month and includes 10,000 emails. SendGrid's first paid plan is Essentials from $19.95 a month, sized for 50,000 to 100,000 emails, so at 10,000 you are paying for room you do not use yet.
Which is cheaper at 50,000 emails a month?
SendGrid, by a wide margin: Essentials from $19.95 covers 50,000 emails. Postmark Basic includes 10,000 and charges $1.80 for each extra 1,000, so 50,000 costs about $87 unless you move to a larger Postmark plan. The lines cross a little under 13,000 emails a month.
Which has more SDKs?
SendGrid lists Node, Python, PHP, Ruby, Go, Java and C#. Postmark lists Node, Python, Ruby, PHP and .NET plus a documented cURL surface. Both cover the mainstream server languages; Go and Java clients are SendGrid-only on the lists each vendor publishes.
Which offers address validation and an SLA?
SendGrid on both counts, on its higher plans: an email validation API on Pro and above, and an SLA stated for Pro and Premier. Postmark's pricing page lists neither a validation product nor an SLA figure. Neither offers a one-time-code API or a check you can run on a message before sending it.
Which one should a startup pick?
Pick on volume and on how long you want to run without paying. Postmark's developer plan never expires and Basic is the cheaper paid plan under about 13,000 emails a month; SendGrid is cheaper above that, and its Pro plan adds validation and a written SLA. If one-time codes or a pre-send check matter, look at the third column.

If the third column fits, try it.

5,000 emails a month on Free, no card, no end date. Pro is $15 for 50,000 emails.