Notix
Compare

Postmark vs Mailgun.

Two services with the same $15 entry plan and the same 10,000 emails inside it. They part on what happens above that, on whether mail comes in as well as goes out, and on which plan carries a written SLA. This page reads both pricing pages and puts the figures side by side; Notix appears as a third column, not as the subject.

At a glance

The two services, criterion by criterion.

Postmark's figures were read from its pricing page on 2026-09-13 and Mailgun's from its pricing page on 2026-09-13; both dates are repeated under the table. Notix figures come from its own pricing page.

Figures read from postmarkapp.com on 2026-09-13 and www.mailgun.com on 2026-09-13; Notix figures come from its own pricing page.
CriterionPostmarkMailgunNotix
Free tier100 emails a month on the developer plan100 emails a day, one inbound route5,000 emails a month, 200 a day, no card, no end date
Entry paid planBasic $15 a monthBasic $15 a monthPro $15 a month
Included on that plan10,000 emails a month, then $1.80 per extra 1,00010,000 emails a month (Foundation: $35 for 50,000)50,000 emails, usage past that metered on the same invoice
SMTP relayYes, on every planYes, on every planYes, on every plan
SDKsNode, Python, Ruby, PHP, .NET, and a documented cURL surfaceNode, Python, PHP, Ruby, Go, Java, C#TypeScript, Python, Go, PHP
WebhooksYesYesYes, signed, for email, contact and domain events
OTP / verification APINoNoYes, email and SMS codes
Deliverability check before sendingNoEmail validation as an add-on ($1.80 per 1,000 on Basic; 5,000 included from Foundation)Yes, a pre-send check API
Billing outside USDUSD by cardUSD by cardUSD by card; naira and shillings from a prepaid wallet
SLANot stated on the pricing pageStated for Scale and above99.9% on Pro, credits on the pricing page
Prices and limits read from the vendors' own pages: postmarkapp.com on 2026-09-13; www.mailgun.com on 2026-09-13. Notix figures are from its own pricing page.

Free tier.

Mailgun's free plan is 100 emails a day, about 3,000 a month, with one inbound route. Postmark's developer plan is 100 emails a month. Both are sized for integrating and testing; Mailgun's is the only one that could carry a small side project without a bill. Neither free tier is a place to run production volume.

Price at 10,000 and 50,000.

At 10,000 emails the two are identical: $15 a month on either Basic plan. At 50,000, Mailgun moves you to Foundation at $35, while Postmark Basic stays at $15 plus $1.80 for each of the 40 extra thousand, about $87, unless you step up a Postmark plan. The lines cross a little over 21,000 emails a month. Below that Postmark's metered overage is the gentler slope; above it Mailgun's plan ladder is cheaper.

Sending API and SMTP.

Both take a JSON body with from, to, subject and html and return a message id, and both offer an SMTP relay on every plan, so a framework mailer or an application you would rather not touch can send without the API. A plain transactional send moves between the two after a client swap and a credential change. Mailgun also receives: inbound routes accept mail for your domain and post it to your application. Postmark's pricing page compared here covers sending only.

SDKs.

Mailgun lists Node, Python, PHP, Ruby, Go, Java and C#. Postmark lists Node, Python, Ruby, PHP and .NET, with a documented cURL surface for everything else. Node, Python, PHP and Ruby teams get a typed client from both; Go and Java teams get one from Mailgun only, and the two name the .NET client differently but both ship one. For the languages both cover, the choice will not rest on the client.

Webhooks and validation tooling.

Both deliver event webhooks for delivery, bounce and complaint events, so a bounced address can be marked in your own database. Mailgun sells address validation as an add-on, $1.80 per 1,000 checks on Basic and 5,000 a month included from Foundation; Postmark lists no validation product. Neither offers a one-time-code API, and neither offers a deliverability check you can call before a send.

Billing and SLA.

Both bill in US dollars by card. Mailgun states an SLA for Scale and above, which begins at $90 a month; Postmark's pricing page does not state an SLA figure. Neither $15 plan carries a written uptime commitment. If one is a requirement, Mailgun's Scale plan meets it and Postmark's pricing page, as read here, does not say.

Verdict

Choose by volume, then by whether you receive mail.

Choose Postmark if

  • You send under about 21,000 emails a month and would rather pay per extra thousand than change plan.
  • You only send, and want a service whose pricing page is about exactly that.
  • Your stack is one of the five languages Postmark ships a client for and you prefer its documentation.

Choose Mailgun if

  • You send more than about 21,000 emails a month; Foundation at $35 covers 50,000.
  • You need to receive and parse mail for your domain, or want address validation from the same vendor.
  • You need a written SLA and can justify the Scale plan at $90 a month.
A third option

Where Notix sits.

On the same criteria: Notix Free is 5,000 emails a month and 200 a day with no card and no end date. Pro is $15 a month for 50,000 emails, with usage past that metered on the same invoice: the same entry price as both headline services with five times the volume inside it, and no plan ladder at 50,000. SMTP, webhooks and SDKs for TypeScript, Python, Go and PHP are on every plan. Notix does not receive mail, so Mailgun's inbound routes stay a reason to pick Mailgun. Where it differs is on the rows the other two leave empty: a verification API for one-time codes by email or SMS, a deliverability check you call before a send, a 99.9 percent commitment on the $15 plan, and billing from a naira or shilling wallet as well as by card.

Consider Notix if

FAQ

Questions this comparison gets asked.

Is Postmark or Mailgun cheaper?
At the entry point they cost the same: Postmark Basic and Mailgun Basic are both $15 a month for 10,000 emails. They part above that. Mailgun moves you to Foundation at $35 for 50,000 and Scale at $90 for 100,000; Postmark charges $1.80 for each extra 1,000 on Basic, so 50,000 emails cost about $87 unless you change plan. Past roughly 21,000 emails a month, Mailgun's Foundation plan is the cheaper of the two.
Which has the better free tier?
Mailgun's, on volume: 100 emails a day, which is about 3,000 a month, plus one inbound route. Postmark's developer plan is 100 emails a month. Both are meant for integrating and testing rather than running a product; Mailgun's is the one you could run a small side project on.
Does either receive email as well as send it?
Mailgun does: its free plan includes one inbound route, and the paid plans route incoming mail for your domain to your application. Postmark's pricing page compared here is about sending. If your product needs to receive and parse mail, that row decides it.
Which offers address validation?
Mailgun sells email validation as an add-on at $1.80 per 1,000 checks on Basic, with 5,000 checks a month included from Foundation. Postmark's pricing page lists no validation product. Neither offers a one-time-code API or a check you can run on a message before sending it.
Which one states an SLA?
Mailgun states one for Scale and above, which starts at $90 a month. Postmark's pricing page does not state an SLA figure. Neither entry plan carries a written uptime commitment, so a team that needs one in writing is looking at Mailgun's Scale plan or elsewhere.
Which one should a startup pick?
On volume first. Under about 21,000 emails a month the two cost within a few dollars of each other and Postmark's per-thousand overage avoids a plan jump; above it, Mailgun's Foundation plan is cheaper and Scale adds the SLA. Mailgun is also the only one of the two that receives mail. If one-time codes or a pre-send check matter, look at the third column.

If the third column fits, try it.

5,000 emails a month on Free, no card, no end date. Pro is $15 for 50,000 emails.